GigVerdict

San Jose, CA | Updated Sep 2026

DoorDash San Jose After Gas $28.52/hr Net

Use this when the gross payout looks fine but fuel and mileage may erase the shift.

Net hourly

$28.52

Gross weekly

$1034

Miles/week

268

Hours/week

25

Estimate transparency

How this San Jose DoorDash After Gas estimate was built

Strong local evidence

This estimate combines 5 cited local sources with 3 driver evidence items, including 1 city-specific report.

What this estimate uses: Fuel sensitivity is recalculated from $4.90 gas, 268 weekly miles, and the current IRS mileage proxy.

Cited sources

5

Driver reports

3

Local driver reports

1

Source review

Checked 2026-02-26

Direct answer

DoorDash San Jose after fuel and vehicle costs estimate

After gas, mileage, and self-employment tax assumptions, the DoorDash side-hustle baseline in San Jose is $28.52/hr net. The model starts from $1034/week gross, 268 miles/week, 25 hours/week, and local gas around $4.90/gal.

The key driver check is whether your actual route mix stays near this mileage load. If restaurant waits, airport queues, or suburb returns add miles without pay, the after-gas number drops before the app payout looks bad.

Local operating context

What changes the after gas math in San Jose

San Jose should be treated as multiple micro-markets: Downtown, Santana Row, and North San Jose can convert well while US-101, I-280, and CA-87 can consume margin through deadhead.

In San Jose side-hustle mode, prioritize Downtown, Santana Row, and North San Jose, cap transfer distance on US-101, I-280, and CA-87, and route fallback through Sunnyvale edge and Campbell whenever conference and product-launch weeks introduces conversion noise.

Conversion drop when leaving Downtown, Santana Row, and North San Jose
Route friction on US-101, I-280, and CA-87
dispersed pickups and commute-hour gridlock

“My side-hustle rule is simple: protect a 23-dollar floor, keep the map tight near Downtown, Santana Row, and North San Jose, and switch once to Sunnyvale edge and Campbell before ending a weak block.”

San Jose multi-app courier | user submitted

“At 25-hour schedules, the winners are usually the people with weekly records and reserve discipline. Process quality matters more than optimism.”

Independent enrolled agent | editorial composite

Goal math

San Jose DoorDash target calculator

The useful answer is not only pay per hour. It is how many real hours and miles the target requires.

Target Modeled hours Modeled miles Gross needed Best use
$100 net day 3.5 hrs 38 mi $145 Dinner, weekend, or two short peaks.
$200 net day 7.0 hrs 75 mi $290 Long stretch goal; compare against fatigue and dead miles.
Per-mile floor 25 hrs/wk 268 mi/wk $3.86/mi Reject offers that look busy but fail after route miles.

High-intent city routes

Stay in this San Jose DoorDash cluster

Data-backed checks

After Gas metrics for San Jose

Estimated weekly fuel

$53

Uses 268 miles/week, 25 MPG, and $4.90/gal local gas.

Gross after fuel

$981

This is before mileage depreciation proxy and self-employment tax.

Net hourly

$28.52/hr

The model still uses the IRS mileage proxy because gas is only one vehicle cost.

Evidence patterns

What the source data says to check

These cards turn driver discussions, official pay docs, field tests, and large driver datasets into the specific checks this page is trying to answer.

Field-test pattern

Gross screenshots need an expense filter

DoorDash San Jose starts with $28.52/hr net because field tests report app payout before fuel, vehicle wear, and tax. This page exposes the modeled $53 weekly fuel drag before the broader mileage proxy.

Source: NerdWallet DoorDash field test →

Cost benchmark

Mileage is larger than the pump receipt

The current IRS 2026 business mileage benchmark is $0.76/mi. At 268 modeled miles/week, that is about $204 of vehicle-cost pressure before self-employment tax.

Source: IRS 2026 mileage rate →

Operating pattern

Dead miles and slow windows decide whether gas matters

Large driver datasets separate peak-window strategy from all-day grinding. That is why the San Jose page shows gross after fuel, miles/week, and the calculator link instead of only a single hourly headline.

Source: Gridwise DoorDash 2026 pay data →

Driver field notes

What drivers check before trusting a DoorDash earnings number in San Jose

These notes come from field tests, official platform docs, driver discussions, and gig-economy reports. They are not guarantees; they are the friction points a real driver would check before treating $28.52/hr net as realistic.

Field test

Gross payout is not the number drivers keep

A recent DoorDash field test logged 6.5 hours and 90 miles for $86 gross before fuel and vehicle costs. Read the $28.52/hr San Jose estimate here as a net baseline, not as an app-payout screenshot.

Source: NerdWallet DoorDash pay test →

Pay mode

Earn-by-time still depends on active delivery time

DoorDash says Dasher pay combines base pay, tips, and promotions. Drivers still need to separate active delivery time from total time logged in the zone before judging an hourly result.

Source: DoorDash Earn by Time help →

San Jose pattern

Prop 22 changes active-time math, not total waiting time

San Jose/California driver discussion shows confusion around minimum wage, active miles, and Prop 22 calculations. California pages need active-time and waiting-time checks instead of a simple gross screenshot.

Source: San Jose Prop 22 driver discussion →

Mileage floor

A low dollar-per-mile offer can erase the shift

Driver threads often use a dollar-per-mile floor before accepting work. The current 2026 IRS business mileage rate is $0.76/mi, so San Jose drivers should compare every offer against total business miles, not only dollars.

Source: IRS 2026 mileage rate →

Market timing

Peak windows beat all-day availability

Recent driver discussions keep repeating the same pattern: good markets can work at peak windows, while summer, school breaks, slow months, and driver saturation make all-day grinding much less reliable.

Source: Driver discussion on 2026 demand →

Platform spread

Customer prices can rise while driver pay barely moves

Gridwise reported customer rideshare prices up 9.6% and platform fees up 33.2%, while driver gross pay per hour rose 4.1%. That gap is why net earnings pages need cost and time assumptions.

Source: Gridwise 2026 gig mobility report →

Published shift evidence

DoorDash shift benchmarks used for San Jose

Local reports are labeled separately from broader app benchmarks. These reviewed public examples do not prove a San Jose wage; they only stress-test whether the modeled $28.52/hr estimate survives real mileage and time data.

Driver discussion California active-time math Local report

San Jose active-time report

Prop 22 and active miles change the pay calculation

Gross

Not reported

Active hr

Not reported

Dash/online

Not reported

Miles

Not reported

California pages need active-time and waiting-time checks instead of a single gross screenshot.

Source: San Jose Prop 22 driver discussion →
Field test mixed lunch/dinner Broader benchmark

National DoorDash field test

$86 gross over 6.5 hours and 90 miles

Gross

$86

Active hr

6.5

Dash/online

6.5

Miles

90

Modeled net check from reported gross + miles

Gross/hr

$13.23

$/mile

$0.96

Net/hr

$2.33

This is the cleanest public reminder that gross payout and take-home pay are different numbers once mileage is counted.

Source: NerdWallet DoorDash pay test →
Reddit self-report six lunch and dinner shifts Broader benchmark

Suburban six-shift week

$847 gross, 312 miles, about 28-30 hours, roughly $526 net claimed

Gross

$847

Active hr

29.0

Dash/online

Not reported

Miles

312

Modeled net check from reported gross + miles

Gross/hr

$29.21

$/mile

$2.71

Net/hr

$18.06

The driver counted mileage and self-employment tax instead of treating the app payout as take-home pay. The post is self-reported and the thread debates the cost model.

Source: DoorDash $847 weekly net breakdown →

Driver report intake

Share a real DoorDash shift in San Jose

Modeled earnings are useful, but actual shifts are the data moat. Submit gross pay, miles, hours, and the window you drove so future San Jose pages can compare the model against real driver reports.

Current model

$28.52/hr

Report status

Editorial review

Do not include phone numbers, addresses, order IDs, customer names, or passenger names. Reports are reviewed before being used on-page.

Use the next page by intent

Related San Jose DoorDash questions