GigVerdict

Phoenix, AZ | Updated Sep 2026

DoorDash Phoenix Pay Per Mile $16.27/hr Net

Use this when the real question is whether the offers clear a dollar-per-mile floor.

Net hourly

$16.27

Gross weekly

$668

Miles/week

256

Hours/week

25

Estimate transparency

How this Phoenix DoorDash Pay Per Mile estimate was built

Strong local evidence

This estimate combines 5 cited local sources with 3 driver evidence items, including 1 city-specific report.

What this estimate uses: The offer floor is computed from $668.00 weekly gross over 256 modeled miles, then checked against net hourly.

Cited sources

5

Driver reports

3

Local driver reports

1

Source review

Checked 2026-02-26

Direct answer

DoorDash Phoenix per mile estimate

The DoorDash Phoenix weekly model uses $668 gross over 256 total modeled business miles, or about $2.61 gross per mile. After the mileage-cost proxy and tax reserve, the model is $16.27/hr estimated take-home.

Count pickup, repositioning, and unpaid return miles in your own total. Leaving those out makes a weak offer look stronger than it is.

Local operating context

What changes the pay per mile math in Phoenix

In Phoenix, demand is usable but uneven. During spring training and snowbird season, route governance and queue timing decide whether hours stay profitable.

In Phoenix side-hustle mode, prioritize Downtown, Tempe, and Old Town Scottsdale, cap transfer distance on I-10, Loop 202, and I-17, and route fallback through Biltmore and Chandler whenever spring training and snowbird season introduces conversion noise.

Conversion drop when leaving Downtown, Tempe, and Old Town Scottsdale
Route friction on I-10, Loop 202, and I-17
summer heat and AC-driven cost spikes

“My side-hustle rule is simple: protect a 18-dollar floor, keep the map tight near Downtown, Tempe, and Old Town Scottsdale, and switch once to Biltmore and Chandler before ending a weak block.”

Phoenix multi-app courier | user submitted

“At 25-hour schedules, the winners are usually the people with weekly records and reserve discipline. Process quality matters more than optimism.”

Independent enrolled agent | editorial composite

Goal math

Phoenix DoorDash target calculator

The useful answer is not only pay per hour. It is how many real hours and miles the target requires.

Target Modeled hours Modeled miles Gross needed Best use
$100 net day 6.1 hrs 63 mi $164 Dinner, weekend, or two short peaks.
$200 net day 12.3 hrs 126 mi $328 Long stretch goal; compare against fatigue and dead miles.
Per-mile floor 25 hrs/wk 256 mi/wk $2.61/mi Reject offers that look busy but fail after route miles.

High-intent city routes

Stay in this Phoenix DoorDash cluster

Data-backed checks

Pay Per Mile metrics for Phoenix

Gross per mile

$2.61/mi

Gross payout divided by modeled weekly miles.

Net profit per mile

$1.59/mi

Net profit after mileage and tax assumptions divided by modeled weekly miles.

IRS mileage proxy

$0.76/mi

A benchmark for vehicle operating cost pressure in 2026.

Evidence patterns

What the source data says to check

These cards turn driver discussions, official pay docs, field tests, and large driver datasets into the specific checks this page is trying to answer.

Acceptance floor

Drivers compare offers by mile before hourly math

DoorDash Phoenix is modeled at $2.61 gross/mi and $1.59 net/mi. That mirrors driver-source behavior: screen weak offers by dollars per mile before trusting an hourly total.

Source: DoorDash driver $/mile discussion →

Cost benchmark

A good offer still has to clear vehicle-cost pressure

The same $0.76/mi IRS proxy used across the site gives this page a consistent comparison line. It is a tax benchmark, not a measurement of the vehicle's actual cash cost.

Source: IRS 2026 mileage rate →

Winner pattern

Top pSEO pages make the query-specific comparison visible

Good pSEO examples expose the exact data point the searcher came for. Here, the page puts gross-per-mile, net-per-mile, and the mileage proxy next to the source trail.

Source: Gridwise DoorDash 2026 pay data →

Driver field notes

What drivers check before trusting a DoorDash earnings number in Phoenix

These notes come from field tests, official platform docs, driver discussions, and gig-economy reports. They are not guarantees; they are the friction points a real driver would check before treating $16.27/hr net as realistic.

Field test

Gross payout is not the number drivers keep

A recent DoorDash field test logged 6.5 hours and 90 miles for $86 gross before fuel and vehicle costs. Read the $16.27/hr Phoenix estimate here as a net baseline, not as an app-payout screenshot.

Source: NerdWallet DoorDash pay test →

Pay mode

Earn-by-time still depends on active delivery time

DoorDash says Dasher pay combines base pay, tips, and promotions. Drivers still need to separate active delivery time from total time logged in the zone before judging an hourly result.

Source: DoorDash Earn by Time help →

Phoenix pattern

$100 days can disappear when the market slows

Phoenix-area dasher discussion specifically frames the pain as not being able to make $100/day when order volume slows. For Phoenix, the $100/day page should be treated as a hours-and-miles plan, not a routine expectation.

Source: Phoenix DoorDash slowdown discussion →

Mileage floor

A low dollar-per-mile offer can erase the shift

Driver threads often use a dollar-per-mile floor before accepting work. The current 2026 IRS business mileage rate is $0.76/mi, so Phoenix drivers should compare every offer against total business miles, not only dollars.

Source: IRS 2026 mileage rate →

Market timing

Peak windows beat all-day availability

Recent driver discussions keep repeating the same pattern: good markets can work at peak windows, while summer, school breaks, slow months, and driver saturation make all-day grinding much less reliable.

Source: Driver discussion on 2026 demand →

Platform spread

Customer prices can rise while driver pay barely moves

Gridwise reported customer rideshare prices up 9.6% and platform fees up 33.2%, while driver gross pay per hour rose 4.1%. That gap is why net earnings pages need cost and time assumptions.

Source: Gridwise 2026 gig mobility report →

Published shift evidence

DoorDash shift benchmarks used for Phoenix

Local reports are labeled separately from broader app benchmarks. These reviewed public examples do not prove a Phoenix wage; they only stress-test whether the modeled $16.27/hr estimate survives real mileage and time data.

Driver discussion slow-market days Local report

Phoenix daily-target report

$100/day became hard when order volume slowed

Gross

Not reported

Active hr

Not reported

Dash/online

Not reported

Miles

Not reported

A $100 target page needs hours and miles, not motivational copy. Slow volume changes the target math.

Source: Phoenix DoorDash slowdown discussion →
Field test mixed lunch/dinner Broader benchmark

National DoorDash field test

$86 gross over 6.5 hours and 90 miles

Gross

$86

Active hr

6.5

Dash/online

6.5

Miles

90

Modeled net check from reported gross + miles

Gross/hr

$13.23

$/mile

$0.96

Net/hr

$2.33

This is the cleanest public reminder that gross payout and take-home pay are different numbers once mileage is counted.

Source: NerdWallet DoorDash pay test →
Reddit self-report six lunch and dinner shifts Broader benchmark

Suburban six-shift week

$847 gross, 312 miles, about 28-30 hours, roughly $526 net claimed

Gross

$847

Active hr

29.0

Dash/online

Not reported

Miles

312

Modeled net check from reported gross + miles

Gross/hr

$29.21

$/mile

$2.71

Net/hr

$18.06

The driver counted mileage and self-employment tax instead of treating the app payout as take-home pay. The post is self-reported and the thread debates the cost model.

Source: DoorDash $847 weekly net breakdown →

Driver report intake

Share a real DoorDash shift in Phoenix

Modeled earnings are useful, but actual shifts are the data moat. Submit gross pay, miles, hours, and the window you drove so future Phoenix pages can compare the model against real driver reports.

Current model

$16.27/hr

Report status

Editorial review

Do not include phone numbers, addresses, order IDs, customer names, or passenger names. Reports are reviewed before being used on-page.

Use the next page by intent

Related Phoenix DoorDash questions