Net hourly
$16.27/hr
Take-home estimate after mileage and self-employment tax assumptions.
Phoenix, AZ | Updated Sep 2026
Use this when the question is the city-specific hourly pay number after mileage, tax, and waiting time.
Net hourly
$16.27
Gross weekly
$668
Miles/week
256
Hours/week
25
Estimate transparency
This estimate combines 5 cited local sources with 3 driver evidence items, including 1 city-specific report.
What this estimate uses: Hourly pay is shown after mileage, gas, self-employment tax, and Phoenix local market conditions.
Cited sources
5
Driver reports
3
Local driver reports
1
Source review
Checked 2026-02-26
Direct answer
The practical DoorDash hourly pay estimate in Phoenix is $16.27/hr net after mileage and self-employment tax assumptions. The modeled shift base is $668/week gross, 25 hours/week, and 256 miles/week, so this page treats hourly pay as take-home math, not an app screenshot.
Use this page when searching DoorDash hourly pay Phoenix and then sanity-check it against the public shift evidence below, including reports that separate active time, dash time, gross payout, and mileage.
Local operating context
In Phoenix, demand is usable but uneven. During spring training and snowbird season, route governance and queue timing decide whether hours stay profitable.
In Phoenix side-hustle mode, prioritize Downtown, Tempe, and Old Town Scottsdale, cap transfer distance on I-10, Loop 202, and I-17, and route fallback through Biltmore and Chandler whenever spring training and snowbird season introduces conversion noise.
“My side-hustle rule is simple: protect a 18-dollar floor, keep the map tight near Downtown, Tempe, and Old Town Scottsdale, and switch once to Biltmore and Chandler before ending a weak block.”
“At 25-hour schedules, the winners are usually the people with weekly records and reserve discipline. Process quality matters more than optimism.”
Local sources checked
Goal math
The useful answer is not only pay per hour. It is how many real hours and miles the target requires.
| Target | Modeled hours | Modeled miles | Gross needed | Best use |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $100 net day | 6.1 hrs | 63 mi | $164 | Dinner, weekend, or two short peaks. |
| $200 net day | 12.3 hrs | 126 mi | $328 | Long stretch goal; compare against fatigue and dead miles. |
| Per-mile floor | 25 hrs/wk | 256 mi/wk | $2.61/mi | Reject offers that look busy but fail after route miles. |
High-intent city routes
Data-backed checks
Net hourly
$16.27/hr
Take-home estimate after mileage and self-employment tax assumptions.
Gross hourly
$26.72/hr
App payout baseline before vehicle-cost and tax assumptions.
Miles per hour
10.2 mi/hr
Mileage intensity behind the hourly pay estimate.
Evidence patterns
These cards turn driver discussions, official pay docs, field tests, and large driver datasets into the specific checks this page is trying to answer.
Hourly-pay pattern
DoorDash Phoenix shows $16.27/hr net after mileage and tax because hourly-pay searches are usually trying to reconcile app screenshots with take-home money.
Source: NerdWallet DoorDash field test →Published-shift pattern
The public shift block below gives this URL a concrete cross-check for 256 modeled miles/week and 25 modeled hours/week instead of relying on a national average.
Source: Gridwise DoorDash 2026 pay data →Cost benchmark
At 256 modeled miles/week, the IRS mileage proxy creates about $195 of weekly vehicle-cost pressure before tax.
Source: IRS 2026 mileage rate →Driver field notes
These notes come from field tests, official platform docs, driver discussions, and gig-economy reports. They are not guarantees; they are the friction points a real driver would check before treating $16.27/hr net as realistic.
Field test
A recent DoorDash field test logged 6.5 hours and 90 miles for $86 gross before fuel and vehicle costs. Read the $16.27/hr Phoenix estimate here as a net baseline, not as an app-payout screenshot.
Source: NerdWallet DoorDash pay test →Pay mode
DoorDash says Dasher pay combines base pay, tips, and promotions. Drivers still need to separate active delivery time from total time logged in the zone before judging an hourly result.
Source: DoorDash Earn by Time help →Phoenix pattern
Phoenix-area dasher discussion specifically frames the pain as not being able to make $100/day when order volume slows. For Phoenix, the $100/day page should be treated as a hours-and-miles plan, not a routine expectation.
Source: Phoenix DoorDash slowdown discussion →Mileage floor
Driver threads often use a dollar-per-mile floor before accepting work. The current 2026 IRS business mileage rate is $0.76/mi, so Phoenix drivers should compare every offer against total business miles, not only dollars.
Source: IRS 2026 mileage rate →Market timing
Recent driver discussions keep repeating the same pattern: good markets can work at peak windows, while summer, school breaks, slow months, and driver saturation make all-day grinding much less reliable.
Source: Driver discussion on 2026 demand →Platform spread
Gridwise reported customer rideshare prices up 9.6% and platform fees up 33.2%, while driver gross pay per hour rose 4.1%. That gap is why net earnings pages need cost and time assumptions.
Source: Gridwise 2026 gig mobility report →Published shift evidence
Local reports are labeled separately from broader app benchmarks. These reviewed public examples do not prove a Phoenix wage; they only stress-test whether the modeled $16.27/hr estimate survives real mileage and time data.
$100/day became hard when order volume slowed
Gross
Not reported
Active hr
Not reported
Dash/online
Not reported
Miles
Not reported
A $100 target page needs hours and miles, not motivational copy. Slow volume changes the target math.
Source: Phoenix DoorDash slowdown discussion →$86 gross over 6.5 hours and 90 miles
Gross
$86
Active hr
6.5
Dash/online
6.5
Miles
90
Modeled net check from reported gross + miles
Gross/hr
$13.23
$/mile
$0.96
Net/hr
$2.33
This is the cleanest public reminder that gross payout and take-home pay are different numbers once mileage is counted.
Source: NerdWallet DoorDash pay test →$847 gross, 312 miles, about 28-30 hours, roughly $526 net claimed
Gross
$847
Active hr
29.0
Dash/online
Not reported
Miles
312
Modeled net check from reported gross + miles
Gross/hr
$29.21
$/mile
$2.71
Net/hr
$18.06
The driver counted mileage and self-employment tax instead of treating the app payout as take-home pay. The post is self-reported and the thread debates the cost model.
Source: DoorDash $847 weekly net breakdown →Driver report intake
Modeled earnings are useful, but actual shifts are the data moat. Submit gross pay, miles, hours, and the window you drove so future Phoenix pages can compare the model against real driver reports.
Current model
$16.27/hr
Report status
Editorial review