Modeled hours
25 hrs/wk
The baseline hour count used in this city estimate.
Denver, CO | Updated Sep 2026
Use this when app-reported active time may hide unpaid waiting and repositioning time.
Net hourly
$19.09
Gross weekly
$754
Miles/week
261
Hours/week
25
Estimate transparency
This estimate combines 5 cited local sources with 3 driver evidence items, including 1 city-specific report.
What this estimate uses: Active-time pages separate logged work, unpaid waiting, route miles, and the modeled side-hustle baseline.
Cited sources
5
Driver reports
3
Local driver reports
1
Source review
Checked 2026-02-26
Direct answer
The DoorDash Denver estimate is based on 25 hours/week, but drivers should compare that against active time, online time, dash time, and waiting time. The current side-hustle baseline is $19.09/hr net.
If the app shows strong active-time earnings but you spent extra time waiting, repositioning, or driving home, your real hourly rate is lower than the active-time screenshot.
Local operating context
The gap between average and strong operators in Denver is not effort. It is whether they can contain snow-day volatility and long repositioning with hard map boundaries.
In Denver side-hustle mode, prioritize LoDo, RiNo, and Cherry Creek, cap transfer distance on I-25, I-70, and US-36, and route fallback through Highlands and Tech Center whenever ski-season travel spikes introduces conversion noise.
“My side-hustle rule is simple: protect a 19-dollar floor, keep the map tight near LoDo, RiNo, and Cherry Creek, and switch once to Highlands and Tech Center before ending a weak block.”
“At 25-hour schedules, the winners are usually the people with weekly records and reserve discipline. Process quality matters more than optimism.”
Local sources checked
Goal math
The useful answer is not only pay per hour. It is how many real hours and miles the target requires.
| Target | Modeled hours | Modeled miles | Gross needed | Best use |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $100 net day | 5.2 hrs | 55 mi | $158 | Dinner, weekend, or two short peaks. |
| $200 net day | 10.5 hrs | 109 mi | $316 | Long stretch goal; compare against fatigue and dead miles. |
| Per-mile floor | 25 hrs/wk | 261 mi/wk | $2.89/mi | Reject offers that look busy but fail after route miles. |
High-intent city routes
Data-backed checks
Modeled hours
25 hrs/wk
The baseline hour count used in this city estimate.
20% waiting buffer
30 hrs/wk
Stress test for online or dash time exceeding active work time.
All-in hourly stress test
$15.91/hr
Net profit divided by modeled hours plus the 20% waiting buffer.
Evidence patterns
These cards turn driver discussions, official pay docs, field tests, and large driver datasets into the specific checks this page is trying to answer.
Clock definition
DoorDash documentation separates app clocks from total availability. This page stress-tests 25 modeled hours as 30 all-in hours to catch waiting and repositioning time.
Source: DoorDash Earn by Time help →Driver behavior
At a 20% waiting buffer, the DoorDash Denver baseline drops to $15.91/hr all-in. That is the number a driver should compare against screenshots that only show active or booked time.
Source: Gridwise DoorDash 2026 pay data →Page uniqueness
Instead of duplicating the city earnings page, this URL isolates the active-time risk: unpaid waiting, repositioning, and the clock definition used by the platform.
Source: DoorDash Earn by Time help →Driver field notes
These notes come from field tests, official platform docs, driver discussions, and gig-economy reports. They are not guarantees; they are the friction points a real driver would check before treating $19.09/hr net as realistic.
Field test
A recent DoorDash field test logged 6.5 hours and 90 miles for $86 gross before fuel and vehicle costs. Read the $19.09/hr Denver estimate here as a net baseline, not as an app-payout screenshot.
Source: NerdWallet DoorDash pay test →Pay mode
DoorDash says Dasher pay combines base pay, tips, and promotions. Drivers still need to separate active delivery time from total time logged in the zone before judging an hourly result.
Source: DoorDash Earn by Time help →Denver pattern
Denver-area dasher discussion specifically calls out a drop from stronger 2024 hourly results to roughly $12-$15/hr in Centennial-style suburban work. That is why the Denver estimate needs a mileage and zone check before a driver trusts it.
Source: Denver DoorDash driver discussion →Mileage floor
Driver threads often use a dollar-per-mile floor before accepting work. The current 2026 IRS business mileage rate is $0.76/mi, so Denver drivers should compare every offer against total business miles, not only dollars.
Source: IRS 2026 mileage rate →Market timing
Recent driver discussions keep repeating the same pattern: good markets can work at peak windows, while summer, school breaks, slow months, and driver saturation make all-day grinding much less reliable.
Source: Driver discussion on 2026 demand →Platform spread
Gridwise reported customer rideshare prices up 9.6% and platform fees up 33.2%, while driver gross pay per hour rose 4.1%. That gap is why net earnings pages need cost and time assumptions.
Source: Gridwise 2026 gig mobility report →Published shift evidence
Local reports are labeled separately from broader app benchmarks. These reviewed public examples do not prove a Denver wage; they only stress-test whether the modeled $19.09/hr estimate survives real mileage and time data.
$12-$15/hr around Centennial-style suburban work
Gross
Not reported
Active hr
Not reported
Dash/online
Not reported
Miles
Not reported
The useful lesson is not the exact number; it is that suburb mileage and wait time can pull a strong city model down fast.
Source: Denver DoorDash driver discussion →$86 gross over 6.5 hours and 90 miles
Gross
$86
Active hr
6.5
Dash/online
6.5
Miles
90
Modeled net check from reported gross + miles
Gross/hr
$13.23
$/mile
$0.96
Net/hr
$2.33
This is the cleanest public reminder that gross payout and take-home pay are different numbers once mileage is counted.
Source: NerdWallet DoorDash pay test →$847 gross, 312 miles, about 28-30 hours, roughly $526 net claimed
Gross
$847
Active hr
29.0
Dash/online
Not reported
Miles
312
Modeled net check from reported gross + miles
Gross/hr
$29.21
$/mile
$2.71
Net/hr
$18.06
The driver counted mileage and self-employment tax instead of treating the app payout as take-home pay. The post is self-reported and the thread debates the cost model.
Source: DoorDash $847 weekly net breakdown →Driver report intake
Modeled earnings are useful, but actual shifts are the data moat. Submit gross pay, miles, hours, and the window you drove so future Denver pages can compare the model against real driver reports.
Current model
$19.09/hr
Report status
Editorial review