GigVerdict

Dallas, TX | Updated Sep 2026

DoorDash Dallas After Gas $9.55/hr Net

Use this when the gross payout looks fine but fuel and mileage may erase the shift.

Net hourly

$9.55

Gross weekly

$475

Miles/week

259

Hours/week

25

Estimate transparency

How this Dallas DoorDash After Gas estimate was built

Strong local evidence

This estimate combines 5 cited local sources with 3 driver evidence items, including 1 city-specific report.

What this estimate uses: Fuel sensitivity is recalculated from $2.95 gas, 259 weekly miles, and the current IRS mileage proxy.

Cited sources

5

Driver reports

3

Local driver reports

1

Source review

Checked 2026-02-26

Direct answer

DoorDash Dallas after fuel and vehicle costs estimate

After gas, mileage, and self-employment tax assumptions, the DoorDash side-hustle baseline in Dallas is $9.55/hr net. The model starts from $475/week gross, 259 miles/week, 25 hours/week, and local gas around $2.95/gal.

The key driver check is whether your actual route mix stays near this mileage load. If restaurant waits, airport queues, or suburb returns add miles without pay, the after-gas number drops before the app payout looks bad.

Local operating context

What changes the after gas math in Dallas

Dallas rewards disciplined zone control around Uptown, Deep Ellum, and Legacy corridor; if you let sessions drift across I-635, US-75, and I-30, retained net drops quickly.

In Dallas side-hustle mode, prioritize Uptown, Deep Ellum, and Legacy corridor, cap transfer distance on I-635, US-75, and I-30, and route fallback through Bishop Arts and Addison whenever game days and fair-season weekends introduces conversion noise.

Conversion drop when leaving Uptown, Deep Ellum, and Legacy corridor
Route friction on I-635, US-75, and I-30
long suburban deadhead chains

“My side-hustle rule is simple: protect a 23-dollar floor, keep the map tight near Uptown, Deep Ellum, and Legacy corridor, and switch once to Bishop Arts and Addison before ending a weak block.”

Dallas multi-app courier | user submitted

“At 25-hour schedules, the winners are usually the people with weekly records and reserve discipline. Process quality matters more than optimism.”

Independent enrolled agent | editorial composite

Goal math

Dallas DoorDash target calculator

The useful answer is not only pay per hour. It is how many real hours and miles the target requires.

Target Modeled hours Modeled miles Gross needed Best use
$100 net day 10.5 hrs 108 mi $199 Dinner, weekend, or two short peaks.
$200 net day 20.9 hrs 217 mi $398 Long stretch goal; compare against fatigue and dead miles.
Per-mile floor 25 hrs/wk 259 mi/wk $1.83/mi Reject offers that look busy but fail after route miles.

High-intent city routes

Stay in this Dallas DoorDash cluster

Data-backed checks

After Gas metrics for Dallas

Estimated weekly fuel

$31

Uses 259 miles/week, 25 MPG, and $2.95/gal local gas.

Gross after fuel

$444

This is before mileage depreciation proxy and self-employment tax.

Net hourly

$9.55/hr

The model still uses the IRS mileage proxy because gas is only one vehicle cost.

Evidence patterns

What the source data says to check

These cards turn driver discussions, official pay docs, field tests, and large driver datasets into the specific checks this page is trying to answer.

Field-test pattern

Gross screenshots need an expense filter

DoorDash Dallas starts with $9.55/hr net because field tests report app payout before fuel, vehicle wear, and tax. This page exposes the modeled $31 weekly fuel drag before the broader mileage proxy.

Source: NerdWallet DoorDash field test →

Cost benchmark

Mileage is larger than the pump receipt

The current IRS 2026 business mileage benchmark is $0.76/mi. At 259 modeled miles/week, that is about $197 of vehicle-cost pressure before self-employment tax.

Source: IRS 2026 mileage rate →

Operating pattern

Dead miles and slow windows decide whether gas matters

Large driver datasets separate peak-window strategy from all-day grinding. That is why the Dallas page shows gross after fuel, miles/week, and the calculator link instead of only a single hourly headline.

Source: Gridwise DoorDash 2026 pay data →

Driver field notes

What drivers check before trusting a DoorDash earnings number in Dallas

These notes come from field tests, official platform docs, driver discussions, and gig-economy reports. They are not guarantees; they are the friction points a real driver would check before treating $9.55/hr net as realistic.

Field test

Gross payout is not the number drivers keep

A recent DoorDash field test logged 6.5 hours and 90 miles for $86 gross before fuel and vehicle costs. Read the $9.55/hr Dallas estimate here as a net baseline, not as an app-payout screenshot.

Source: NerdWallet DoorDash pay test →

Pay mode

Earn-by-time still depends on active delivery time

DoorDash says Dasher pay combines base pay, tips, and promotions. Drivers still need to separate active delivery time from total time logged in the zone before judging an hourly result.

Source: DoorDash Earn by Time help →

Dallas pattern

DFW zone crossings make home-to-home miles matter

Dallas/DFW delivery discussions repeatedly come back to dollar-per-mile discipline and zone crossing. In a spread-out metro, count miles from home to home, not only the restaurant-to-dropoff route.

Source: DoorDash dollar-per-mile discussion →

Mileage floor

A low dollar-per-mile offer can erase the shift

Driver threads often use a dollar-per-mile floor before accepting work. The current 2026 IRS business mileage rate is $0.76/mi, so Dallas drivers should compare every offer against total business miles, not only dollars.

Source: IRS 2026 mileage rate →

Market timing

Peak windows beat all-day availability

Recent driver discussions keep repeating the same pattern: good markets can work at peak windows, while summer, school breaks, slow months, and driver saturation make all-day grinding much less reliable.

Source: Driver discussion on 2026 demand →

Platform spread

Customer prices can rise while driver pay barely moves

Gridwise reported customer rideshare prices up 9.6% and platform fees up 33.2%, while driver gross pay per hour rose 4.1%. That gap is why net earnings pages need cost and time assumptions.

Source: Gridwise 2026 gig mobility report →

Published shift evidence

DoorDash shift benchmarks used for Dallas

Local reports are labeled separately from broader app benchmarks. These reviewed public examples do not prove a Dallas wage; they only stress-test whether the modeled $9.55/hr estimate survives real mileage and time data.

Driver discussion spread-out metro orders Local report

DFW dollar-per-mile report

Drivers discuss dollar-per-mile floors before accepting DoorDash orders

Gross

Not reported

Active hr

Not reported

Dash/online

Not reported

Miles

Not reported

In DFW, home-to-home miles matter more than restaurant-to-dropoff miles because zone crossings can eat the shift.

Source: DoorDash dollar-per-mile discussion →
Field test mixed lunch/dinner Broader benchmark

National DoorDash field test

$86 gross over 6.5 hours and 90 miles

Gross

$86

Active hr

6.5

Dash/online

6.5

Miles

90

Modeled net check from reported gross + miles

Gross/hr

$13.23

$/mile

$0.96

Net/hr

$2.33

This is the cleanest public reminder that gross payout and take-home pay are different numbers once mileage is counted.

Source: NerdWallet DoorDash pay test →
Reddit self-report six lunch and dinner shifts Broader benchmark

Suburban six-shift week

$847 gross, 312 miles, about 28-30 hours, roughly $526 net claimed

Gross

$847

Active hr

29.0

Dash/online

Not reported

Miles

312

Modeled net check from reported gross + miles

Gross/hr

$29.21

$/mile

$2.71

Net/hr

$18.06

The driver counted mileage and self-employment tax instead of treating the app payout as take-home pay. The post is self-reported and the thread debates the cost model.

Source: DoorDash $847 weekly net breakdown →

Driver report intake

Share a real DoorDash shift in Dallas

Modeled earnings are useful, but actual shifts are the data moat. Submit gross pay, miles, hours, and the window you drove so future Dallas pages can compare the model against real driver reports.

Current model

$9.55/hr

Report status

Editorial review

Do not include phone numbers, addresses, order IDs, customer names, or passenger names. Reports are reviewed before being used on-page.

Use the next page by intent

Related Dallas DoorDash questions