Estimated weekly fuel
$54
Uses 276 miles/week, 25 MPG, and $4.90/gal local gas.
San Francisco, CA | Updated Sep 2026
Use this when the gross payout looks fine but fuel and mileage may erase the shift.
Net hourly
$30.75
Gross weekly
$1105
Miles/week
276
Hours/week
25
Estimate transparency
This estimate uses 3 cited sources for local context. No city-specific driver report is included yet; 2 broader app benchmarks are shown separately.
What this estimate uses: Fuel sensitivity is recalculated from $4.90 gas, 276 weekly miles, and the current IRS mileage proxy.
Cited sources
3
Driver reports
2
Local driver reports
0
Source review
Checked 2026-02-26
Direct answer
After gas, mileage, and self-employment tax assumptions, the Uber side-hustle baseline in San Francisco is $30.75/hr net. The model starts from $1105/week gross, 276 miles/week, 25 hours/week, and local gas around $4.90/gal.
The key driver check is whether your actual route mix stays near this mileage load. If restaurant waits, airport queues, or suburb returns add miles without pay, the after-gas number drops before the app payout looks bad.
Local operating context
San Francisco should be treated as multiple micro-markets: Mission, SoMa, and North Beach can convert well while US-101, I-280, and Embarcadero approaches can consume margin through deadhead.
In San Francisco side-hustle mode, prioritize Mission, SoMa, and North Beach, cap transfer distance on US-101, I-280, and Embarcadero approaches, and route fallback through Inner Sunset and Richmond whenever conference weeks and Giants home games introduces conversion noise.
“My side-hustle rule is simple: protect a 20-dollar floor, keep the map tight near Mission, SoMa, and North Beach, and switch once to Inner Sunset and Richmond before ending a weak block.”
“At 25-hour schedules, the winners are usually the people with weekly records and reserve discipline. Process quality matters more than optimism.”
Goal math
The useful answer is not only pay per hour. It is how many real hours and miles the target requires.
| Target | Modeled hours | Modeled miles | Gross needed | Best use |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $100 net day | 3.3 hrs | 36 mi | $144 | Dinner, weekend, or two short peaks. |
| $200 net day | 6.5 hrs | 72 mi | $288 | Long stretch goal; compare against fatigue and dead miles. |
| Per-mile floor | 25 hrs/wk | 276 mi/wk | $4.00/mi | Reject offers that look busy but fail after route miles. |
Data-backed checks
Estimated weekly fuel
$54
Uses 276 miles/week, 25 MPG, and $4.90/gal local gas.
Gross after fuel
$1051
This is before mileage depreciation proxy and self-employment tax.
Net hourly
$30.75/hr
The model still uses the IRS mileage proxy because gas is only one vehicle cost.
Evidence patterns
These cards turn driver discussions, official pay docs, field tests, and large driver datasets into the specific checks this page is trying to answer.
Field-test pattern
Uber San Francisco starts with $30.75/hr net because field tests report app payout before fuel, vehicle wear, and tax. This page exposes the modeled $54 weekly fuel drag before the broader mileage proxy.
Source: NerdWallet Uber field test →Cost benchmark
The current IRS 2026 business mileage benchmark is $0.76/mi. At 276 modeled miles/week, that is about $210 of vehicle-cost pressure before self-employment tax.
Source: IRS 2026 mileage rate →Operating pattern
Large driver datasets separate peak-window strategy from all-day grinding. That is why the San Francisco page shows gross after fuel, miles/week, and the calculator link instead of only a single hourly headline.
Source: Gridwise Uber 2026 pay data →Driver field notes
These notes come from field tests, official platform docs, driver discussions, and gig-economy reports. They are not guarantees; they are the friction points a real driver would check before treating $30.75/hr net as realistic.
Field test
A recent Uber field test reported about 10 active hours, 10 trips, and 305 miles. For San Francisco, the mileage load is why this page starts with $30.75/hr net instead of gross fare totals.
Source: NerdWallet Uber pay test →Online time
Uber's earnings tools show session summaries with online time, offers, and completed trips. That is the right mental model for comparing a city: unpaid waiting and repositioning time change the real hourly rate.
Source: Uber delivery earnings guide →Mileage floor
Driver threads often use a dollar-per-mile floor before accepting work. The current 2026 IRS business mileage rate is $0.76/mi, so San Francisco drivers should compare every offer against total business miles, not only dollars.
Source: IRS 2026 mileage rate →Market timing
Recent driver discussions keep repeating the same pattern: good markets can work at peak windows, while summer, school breaks, slow months, and driver saturation make all-day grinding much less reliable.
Source: Driver discussion on 2026 demand →Platform spread
Gridwise reported customer rideshare prices up 9.6% and platform fees up 33.2%, while driver gross pay per hour rose 4.1%. That gap is why net earnings pages need cost and time assumptions.
Source: Gridwise 2026 gig mobility report →Published shift evidence
Local reports are labeled separately from broader app benchmarks. These reviewed public examples do not prove a San Francisco wage; they only stress-test whether the modeled $30.75/hr estimate survives real mileage and time data.
10 active hours, 10 trips, and 305 miles
Gross
Not reported
Active hr
10.0
Dash/online
Not reported
Miles
305
Reported deliveries: 10
Uber screenshots need a mileage check because a strong fare day can still put heavy depreciation on the car.
Source: NerdWallet Uber pay test →$23,611 gross after platform fees and tolls, 18,426 miles, $38 gross/hour, $1.28/mile
Gross
$23611
Active hr
Not reported
Dash/online
Not reported
Miles
18426
The driver used a 2014 Honda Civic and only drove selected surge and early-morning windows. The post does not provide enough verified time detail for a net-hourly estimate.
Source: Tennessee UberX/Lyft gross earnings report →Driver report intake
Modeled earnings are useful, but actual shifts are the data moat. Submit gross pay, miles, hours, and the window you drove so future San Francisco pages can compare the model against real driver reports.
Current model
$30.75/hr
Report status
Editorial review