Modeled hours
25 hrs/wk
The baseline hour count used in this city estimate.
Portland, OR | Updated Sep 2026
Use this when app-reported active time may hide unpaid waiting and repositioning time.
Net hourly
$18.15
Gross weekly
$729
Miles/week
265
Hours/week
25
Estimate transparency
This is a modeled estimate with limited local evidence. Adjust the inputs and treat the result as a planning range, not a guaranteed wage.
What this estimate uses: Active-time pages separate logged work, unpaid waiting, route miles, and the modeled side-hustle baseline.
Cited sources
0
Driver reports
2
Local driver reports
0
Source review
Direct answer
The Uber Portland estimate is based on 25 hours/week, but drivers should compare that against active time, online time, dash time, and waiting time. The current side-hustle baseline is $18.15/hr net.
If the app shows strong active-time earnings but you spent extra time waiting, repositioning, or driving home, your real hourly rate is lower than the active-time screenshot.
Goal math
The useful answer is not only pay per hour. It is how many real hours and miles the target requires.
| Target | Modeled hours | Modeled miles | Gross needed | Best use |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $100 net day | 5.5 hrs | 58 mi | $161 | Dinner, weekend, or two short peaks. |
| $200 net day | 11.0 hrs | 117 mi | $321 | Long stretch goal; compare against fatigue and dead miles. |
| Per-mile floor | 25 hrs/wk | 265 mi/wk | $2.75/mi | Reject offers that look busy but fail after route miles. |
Data-backed checks
Modeled hours
25 hrs/wk
The baseline hour count used in this city estimate.
20% waiting buffer
30 hrs/wk
Stress test for online or dash time exceeding active work time.
All-in hourly stress test
$15.13/hr
Net profit divided by modeled hours plus the 20% waiting buffer.
Evidence patterns
These cards turn driver discussions, official pay docs, field tests, and large driver datasets into the specific checks this page is trying to answer.
Clock definition
Uber documentation separates app clocks from total availability. This page stress-tests 25 modeled hours as 30 all-in hours to catch waiting and repositioning time.
Source: Uber earnings guide →Driver behavior
At a 20% waiting buffer, the Uber Portland baseline drops to $15.13/hr all-in. That is the number a driver should compare against screenshots that only show active or booked time.
Source: Gridwise Uber 2026 pay data →Page uniqueness
Instead of duplicating the city earnings page, this URL isolates the active-time risk: unpaid waiting, repositioning, and the clock definition used by the platform.
Source: Uber earnings guide →Driver field notes
These notes come from field tests, official platform docs, driver discussions, and gig-economy reports. They are not guarantees; they are the friction points a real driver would check before treating $18.15/hr net as realistic.
Field test
A recent Uber field test reported about 10 active hours, 10 trips, and 305 miles. For Portland, the mileage load is why this page starts with $18.15/hr net instead of gross fare totals.
Source: NerdWallet Uber pay test →Online time
Uber's earnings tools show session summaries with online time, offers, and completed trips. That is the right mental model for comparing a city: unpaid waiting and repositioning time change the real hourly rate.
Source: Uber delivery earnings guide →Portland pattern
Portland is actively debating ride-hail driver pay and platform take rates. That matters for earnings pages because rider cost and driver take-home can move in different directions even when trip demand looks stable.
Source: NW Labor Press Portland pay-cap report →Mileage floor
Driver threads often use a dollar-per-mile floor before accepting work. The current 2026 IRS business mileage rate is $0.76/mi, so Portland drivers should compare every offer against total business miles, not only dollars.
Source: IRS 2026 mileage rate →Market timing
Recent driver discussions keep repeating the same pattern: good markets can work at peak windows, while summer, school breaks, slow months, and driver saturation make all-day grinding much less reliable.
Source: Driver discussion on 2026 demand →Platform spread
Gridwise reported customer rideshare prices up 9.6% and platform fees up 33.2%, while driver gross pay per hour rose 4.1%. That gap is why net earnings pages need cost and time assumptions.
Source: Gridwise 2026 gig mobility report →Published shift evidence
Local reports are labeled separately from broader app benchmarks. These reviewed public examples do not prove a Portland wage; they only stress-test whether the modeled $18.15/hr estimate survives real mileage and time data.
10 active hours, 10 trips, and 305 miles
Gross
Not reported
Active hr
10.0
Dash/online
Not reported
Miles
305
Reported deliveries: 10
Uber screenshots need a mileage check because a strong fare day can still put heavy depreciation on the car.
Source: NerdWallet Uber pay test →$23,611 gross after platform fees and tolls, 18,426 miles, $38 gross/hour, $1.28/mile
Gross
$23611
Active hr
Not reported
Dash/online
Not reported
Miles
18426
The driver used a 2014 Honda Civic and only drove selected surge and early-morning windows. The post does not provide enough verified time detail for a net-hourly estimate.
Source: Tennessee UberX/Lyft gross earnings report →Driver report intake
Modeled earnings are useful, but actual shifts are the data moat. Submit gross pay, miles, hours, and the window you drove so future Portland pages can compare the model against real driver reports.
Current model
$18.15/hr
Report status
Editorial review